I am

I found this on sandiegomomma.com last week as a  PROMPTuesday.  She found it as a meme floating around cyberspace and passed it on.

Here is her description…”It’s a chance to explain who you are, what’s inside, where you’re from. Share your memory fragments, those visions in your head, those figments that make you, you. What bits and pieces formed your whole? Are you whole?”

I didn’t have time to do this last Tuesday so I’m going for it today.  Maybe after reading mine you’ll be inspired to do the same.  If so, leave it on my comments as I’d love to read it! (She used the I am from format so that’s what I did too)

BTW…her website has an interactive blog post every tuesday…I think it’s great.  One of these days I’ll participate on the correct day.  Anyway…here goes.

“I AM”

I am from leg warmers, white roller skates, sliver wheels, a sloped driveway, and the Xanadu soundtrack

I am from Dixieland, the Depot, Drive-in-movies in the garage

I am from ballet bars, resin, aqua net, bobby pins and tutus

I am from tether ball

I am from Thriller dance moves on the playground and Michael Jackson posters

I am from real mayonnaise and Wonder Bread

I am from summers filled with ole & lena, corn, lakes, jokes, dice, you betchas

I am from hair brush microphones and gratuitous applause

I am from the Maypole Dance

I am from Seaport Village, Catalina and Greyhound journeys to Yuma,

I am from middle and ring finger

I am from taco night and Cielito Lindo

I am from Garfield

I am from Grease

I am from jelly shoes, dolphin shorts and side ponies

I am from BFFs, I hearts and cu next summers

I am from 45’s and Tower Records

I am from tantrums and teasing

I am from the pool halls of River City, the roof tops of Anatevka, and the hills of Austria

I am from Tiger Beat, Scott Baio, Rick Springfield, and the Duran Duran fan club

I am from Borderline

I am from the comforting smell of a comfy baby blanket

I am from tennis strings, uke strings and heart strings

I am from a ’69 convertible camero, pall malls and am radio

I am from navy league, junior league, bridge league, and countless other leagues

I am from Mrs Cleaves, Mrs Mayer, Mrs Rindall, Mrs Brown, Mr. Klausner and Ms. O

I am from Jack Murphy

I am from mix tapes

I am from the basement crew

I am from volleyball nets, 2 a days, sand runs, and blue banners

I am from the Miss California Room

I am from Frito Corn Chip and Lipton’s Onion Soup Dip

I am from Oiuja Boards, Light as a Feather, I’ve Never, and Truth or Dare

I am from competition

I am from Gelato

I am from his, hers, ours and theirs

I am from a 20 year high school reunion

I am from love

Wow…That was really fun…I really encourage you to try it too.  I’ll probably think of 100 more tonight.

5 Responses

  1. This is great. I can relate to a lot of it (unfortunately including the “Xanadu” soundtrack!).

    Best of luck with NaBloPoMo (spelled right?).

    Thanks for the visit and hope to see another PROMPT from you one of these days!

  2. Do I really want to admit that I am from sticker books and roller skate rinks? Hmmm…

  3. I am from basement parties

  4. How do you know Lena and Olin? Those are classic jokes! Ufda!!

  5. I spent every other summer with my mom in Minnesota visiting her best friend, Marylou. Marylou’s husband Dick used to tell Olin (I knew it as Ole) and Lena jokes I loved it!!!

Leave a Reply

